MINUTES

Board of Trustees Illinois State University Presidential Search Committee Meeting February 23, 2024

Chair Kathryn Bohn called the meeting to order at 8:17 a.m. on February 23, 2024. A roll call of the committee conducted by Trustee Julie Jones was as follows:

Committee members present in person: Danielle Beasley, Dr. Kathryn Bohn, Angela Bonnell, Leanna Bordner, Dr. Vijay Devabhaktuni, Ash Ebikhumi, Dr. Heather Dillaway, Taylor Flinn, Dr. Martha Horst, Trustee Scott Jenkins, Trustee Julie Jones, Dan Kelley, Justin Lawson, Dr. Danielle Miller-Schuster, Eduardo Monk, Jr., Dr. Derek O'Connell, Dr. Klaus Schmidt, Darren Tillis, Dr. Julie Webber, Jill Wilberg, Dr. Ani Yazedjian

Committee members present remotely: Joe McDonald, Tim Griffin, Dr. Nancy Novotny, Archana Shekara

Committee members absent: Dr. Bahae Samhan, Trustee Bob Navarro, Erin Mikulec

Staff present: Jean Ann Dargatz, Katy Killian, Meghan Lugo, Lisa Mason and Carrie Haas, Counsel.

After confirming there was an in-person quorum, Trustee Jones took roll for those attending virtually. Nancy Novotny (employment), Joe McDonald (personal illness), Tim Griffin (employment), Archana Shekara (personal illness) each requested to attend the meeting by remote means.

A motion to allow Nancy Novotny, Joe McDonald, Tim Griffin, and Archana Shekara to participate remotely was made by Trustee Ebikhumi and seconded by Dan Kelley. Vote in favor by all. The motion was approved and Nancy Novotny, Joe McDonald, Tim Griffin and Archana Shekara were allowed to participate by video conference.

Chair Bohn asked for a motion to approve the agenda. Dan Kelley made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Trustee Ebikhumi. Vote in favor by all. The motion was approved.

Trustee Bohn called for public comments. No members of the public requested to address the committee.

Chair Bohn welcomed the search committee and asked for a motion to move into closed session for the purpose of considering and evaluating a finalist candidate (Dr. Donald Easton-Brooks) for the position of university president pursuant to 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1) and 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(3). Danielle Miller-Schuster made a motion to move into closed session for the purposes identified, seconded by Justin Lawson. A roll call vote of the committee was conducted by Trustee Jones with all members voting in favor of moving to closed session for the purposes identified. The committee moved into closed session at 8:23 a.m.

(Closed Session)

The meeting reconvened to open session at 9:26 a.m.

Chair Bohn thanked the committee members and reminded the members to complete the evaluation for the candidate. She indicated that the next meeting of the search committee will be on Friday, February 27, 2024.

Chair Bohn then asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Trustee Ebikhumi made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Vijay Devabhaktuni. The motion was approved by all and the meeting was adjourned at 9:28 a.m. without objection.