MINUTES

Board of Trustees Illinois State University Presidential Search Committee Meeting February 27, 2024

Chair Kathryn Bohn called the meeting to order at 8:16 a.m. on February 27, 2024. A roll call of the committee conducted by Secretary Robert Navarro was as follows:

Committee members present in person: Danielle Beasley, Dr. Kathryn Bohn, Angela Bonnell, Leanna Bordner, Dr. Vijay Devabhaktuni, Ash Ebikhumi, Dr. Heather Dillaway, Dr. Martha Horst, Trustee Julie Jones, Dan Kelley, Justin Lawson, Dr. Danielle Miller-Schuster, Erin Mikulec, Eduardo Monk, Jr., Trustee Bob Navarro, Dr. Derek O'Connell, Dr. Klaus Schmidt, Dr. Julie Webber, Jill Wilberg, Dr. Ani Yazedjian

Committee members present remotely: Taylor Flinn, Joe McDonald, Archana Shekara, Trustee Scott Jenkins, Tim Griffin, Trustee Darren Tillis, and Nancy Novotny

Committee members absent: Dr. Bahae Samhan

Staff present: Jean Ann Dargatz, Katy Killian, Meghan Lugo, Lisa Mason and Carrie Haas, Counsel.

After confirming there was an in-person quorum, Secretary Navarro took roll for those attending virtually. Taylor Flinn (employment), Joe McDonald (personal illness), Tim Griffin (employment), Trustee Tillis (employment), and Trustee Jenkins (employment), Nancy Novotny (personal illness), and Archana Shekara (personal illness) each requested to attend the meeting by remote means.

A motion to allow Taylor Flinn, Joe McDonald, Tim Griffin, Trustee Tillis, Trustee Jenkins, Nancy Novotny, and Archana Shekara to participate remotely was made by Danielle Miller-Schuster and seconded by Leanna Bordner. Vote in favor by all. The motion was approved and Taylor Flinn, Joe McDonald, Tim Griffin, Trustee Tillis, Trustee Jenkins, Nancy Novotny, and Archana Shekara were allowed to participate by video conference.

Chair Bohn asked for a motion to approve the agenda. Derek O'Connell made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Dan Kelley. Vote in favor by all. The motion was approved.

Trustee Bohn called for public comments. No members of the public requested to address the committee.

Chair Bohn welcomed the search committee and asked for a motion to move into closed session for the purpose of considering and evaluating a finalist candidate (Dr. Elizabeth Mullinex) for the position of university president pursuant to 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1) and 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(3). Vijay Devabhaktuni made a motion to move into closed session for the purposes identified, seconded by Janice Bonneville. A roll call vote of the committee was conducted by Secretary Navarro with all members voting in favor of moving to closed session for the purposes identified. The committee moved into closed session at 8:22 a.m.

(Closed Session)

The meeting reconvened to open session at approximately 9:24 a.m.

Chair Bohn thanked the committee members and reminded the members to complete the evaluation for the candidate. She indicated that the next meeting of the search committee will be on Friday, March 1, 2024.

Chair Bohn then asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Janice Bonneville made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Erin Mikulec. The motion was approved by all and the meeting was adjourned at 9:27 a.m. without objection.