MINUTES

Board of Trustees Illinois State University Presidential Search Committee Meeting January 25, 2024

Chair Kathryn Bohn called the meeting to order at 8:04 a.m. A roll call of the committee conducted by Secretary Robert Navarro was as follows:

Committee members present in person: Danielle Beasley, Dr. Kathryn Bohn, Angela Bonnell, Janice Bonneville, Leanna Bordner, Dr. Vijay Devabhaktuni, Ash Ebikhumi, Tim Griffin, Dr. Martha Horst, Scott Jenkins, Julie Jones, Dan Kelley, Justin Lawson, Joe McDonald, Dr. Erin Mikulec, Eduardo Monk, Jr., Bob Navarro, Dr. Nancy Novotny, Dr. Derek O'Connell, Dr. Klaus Schmidt, Archana Shekara, Darren Tillis, Dr. Julie Webber, Jill Wilberg, Dr. Ani Yazedjian

Committee members present remotely: Dr. Heather Dillaway, Taylor Flinn, and Dr. Danielle Miller-Schuster

Committee members absent: Dr. Bahae Samhan

Staff present: Jean Ann Dargatz, Katy Killian, Meghan Lugo, Lisa Mason and Carrie Haas, Counsel.

After confirming there was an in-person quorum, Secretary Navarro took roll for those attending virtually. Dr. Heather Dillaway, Taylor Flinn, and Dr. Danielle Miller-Schuster each requested to attend the meeting by remote means for employment purposes.

A motion to allow Dr. Heather Dillaway, Taylor Flinn, and Dr. Danielle Miller-Schuster to participate remotely was made by Trustee Ebikhumi and seconded by Leanna Bordner. Vote in favor by all. The motion was approved and Dr. Heather Dillaway, Taylor Flinn, and Dr. Danielle Miller-Schuster were allowed to participate by video conference.

Chair Bohn asked for a motion to approve the agenda. Ash Ebikhumi made a motion to approve the agenda, seconded by Dan Kelley. The motion was approved.

Chair Bohn next asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the December 11, 2023 meeting. Ash Ebikhumi made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Dan Kelley. The motion was approved.

Trustee Bohn called for public comments. No members of the public requested to address the committee.

Trustee Bohn welcomed the search committee, introduced Parker Executive Search and reminded the group that from here forward the meetings will begin in open session but quickly move to closed session for the purpose of evaluating specific candidates.

Laurie Wilder of Parker Executive Search led preliminary discussion about the general process used for evaluating candidates.

Chair Bohn asked for a motion to move into closed session for the purpose of discussing the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance or dismissal of specific employees pursuant to 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1). Ash Ebikhumi made a motion to move into closed session for the purposes identified, seconded by Dr. Ani Yazedjian. A roll call vote of the committee was conducted by Secretary Navarro with all members voting in favor of moving to closed session for the purposes identified. The committee moved into closed session at 8:15 a.m.

(Closed Session)

The meeting reconvened to open session at 10:07 a.m.

Chair Bohn thanked the committee and Parker Executive Search for their work. She stated the next meeting date is February 5^{th} at 8 a.m. in the Old Main Room of the Bone Student Center.

Chair Bohn asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Bob Navarro made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Dan Kelley. The motion was approved and the meeting was adjourned at 10:15 a.m. without objection.

